

E-NEWS UPDATE FEBRUARY 2017 EDITION, VOL. 2

February & March 2017 Rules Update

A summary of rule changes taking effect in February and March can be found by visiting: www.pharmacy.ohio.qov/FebMar2017Rules.

New Requirements for Opioid Prescriptions

On January 4, 2017, SB 319 was signed by Governor Kasich. This law (effective 4/6/2017) includes the following provisions as they relate to <u>outpatient prescriptions</u> for opioid analgesics:

14-day Prescriptions for Opioid Analgesics: The law generally prohibits a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or terminal distributor from dispensing or selling an opioid analgesic pursuant to a prescription if the drug is to be used on an outpatient basis and more than 14 days have elapsed since the prescription was issued. Note: 14-day limit does not apply to subsequent refills.

90-day Supply: The law limits the authority of a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or terminal distributor of dangerous drugs to dispense or sell an opioid analgesic pursuant to a prescription for a drug to be used on an outpatient basis. It prohibits dispensing or selling more than a 90-day supply of the drug, as determined according to the prescription's instructions for use of the drug, regardless of whether the prescription was issued for a greater amount.

These provisions are set to take effect on **April 6, 2017.** For questions regarding these changes, please visit: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/OpioidRequirements.

CPE Quiz

The 2017 CPE program and quiz covering topics from the 2016 State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy Newsletters is available on the Board of Pharmacy website by visiting: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/2017CPEQuiz.

A passing grade of 75% is required. Participants have two opportunities to pass the quiz. The quiz will provide one contact hour (0.1 CEUs) of board-approved jurisprudence credit. The course will be available **until January 31**, **2018.** Credit earned for this program is not reported to NABP's CPE monitor. It is your responsibility to keep a copy of your certificate to use in the event of any audits.

Changes to CTP Number for Physician Assistants

Please be advised that the Medical Board no longer issues separate Certificate to Prescribe (CTP) numbers for physician assistants (PA). Instead, a PA's authority to prescribe is now designated by their license number with an "RX" at the end (for example, 50.xxxxxxxxXX). The "RX" at the end of a PA license number meets the requirements for the CTP pursuant to rule 4729-5-30 of the Ohio Administrative Code.

State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy | 77 S. High Street, 17th Floor | Columbus, OH 43215-6126